Autumn Squash Soup (copy cat of Panera’s!)

Yesterday, Lance and I stopped at Panera Bread for lunch before heading home after shopping.  My typical Panera’s meal is usually their creamy tomato soup +/- the bread bowl and a delicious hot chocolate.  I’m a pretty predictable person; I usually know what I like and seldom stray from my favorites.  However, yesterday, I was feeling adventurous and tried their new autumn squash soup.  I’ve been wanting to try a pumpkin or squash soup and yesterday seemed like just as good of a time as any.  And it rocked my world.  It was so good that my immediate response was ‘I want to learn to make this!

DSCF2008

Autumn Squash Soup

And lucky for me, a large part of the blogging community feels the same way.  Which means it only took a matter of minutes to produce several different copy cat recipes made and tested by other bloggers.  I also tabbed open Panera’s homepage and matched the ingredients to the ones Panera’s claims they use.  And I found a winner!

I followed this recipe from The Home Guru.  I found the ingredients to be the most similar to those that Panera’s named.  I did, however, use fresh pumpkin and fresh butternut squash.  It made the process longer, but I didn’t have much to do this afternoon anyways.  Plus, I wanted the seeds.  I love pumpkin seeds, and they totally made the soup.

DSCF2004

favorite fall treat!

I roasted the squash and pumpkin for 45 minutes and then pureed it in the food processor.  After that, the rest of the followed the recipe exactly.  At first, I had little faith.  I’ve never made any type of squash soup and I’ve only eaten it once, and every time I tasted it, it just didn’t seem right.  I also didn’t really measure the fresh product (woops!) so I had to alter the other ingredients to match.  I thought I had messed it up.

DSCF2001

freshly roasted squash!

And then I added the cream.  And it was like the clouds parting and the sun breaking through!  It worked!

It was delicious.  Especially with some pumpkin seeds on top and some Italian bread to dip in.  The only thing that I might add would be a little cinnamon.

I was so excited to find this recipe and to actually have it turn out well.  I’ve been wanting to find good recipes to add to my vegetarian Thanksgiving meal menu and this soup is definitely perfect.

Have you tried anything new lately?  If so, how’d it go?

 

5 comments on “Autumn Squash Soup (copy cat of Panera’s!)

  1. Joann says:

    Where do we find your recipe for the autumn squash soup?

  2. Sandy says:

    i love butternut squash and pumpkin. I grew my own pumpkins this year. So of course I tried the Autumn Squash Soup at Panera. However, I got sick; i.e. I passed out / fell into deep sleep after eating in response to the MSG – monosodium glutamate – in the soup. No more Panera soup for me. For those sensitive to MSG, we must be careful to know ingredients beforehand.

  3. Judy says:

    I had the same experience you did. Panera’s Autum Squash soup is the best soup I’ve ever tasted! Thanks for the recipe.

Tell me what you think!

